AFL North Coast celebrate legends of local footy

Some of the Legends of Local Footy recognised for their contribution to the local AFL community at the AFL North Coast’s 40 year celebration held on Saturday. Photo: Green Shoots Marketing.


AS the AFL North Coast celebrated the 40th straight year of competition which is about to get underway, some key figures from the history of local clubs in the region were recognised for the service they’ve given to the game.

The magnificent milestone was celebrated at C.ex Coffs as many stories were told and memories shared by those in attendance.

A brief history of the competition was revealed starting from that first match played in the middle of Coffs Harbour racecourse back in 1977 right through to today where the senior competition is looking forward to an eight team competition in the senior men’s grade while the women continue to go from strength to strength and are about to embark on a season where there will be six teams.

The highlight of the night though was recognising 38 people who’ve given so much not only to their club but footy in general.

These 38 individuals were named as Legends of Local Footy.

Community Football & Competition Manager for Northern NSW, Paul Taylor, said the fact that the competition is able to celebrate its 40th anniversary is in large part due to the work done by those who received the honour during the evening.

“To think that the competition has been going for 40 years is a tribute to the resilience of the marvellous people who’ve been recognised,” Mr Taylor said.

“In the early years, AFL wasn’t recognised as a major code in the community but for these people to keep going and contribute so many voluntary hours because they love the game is a credit to them as they’ve managed to keep going to the point where AFL is now thriving in Northern NSW.”

Legends of Local Footy

North Coffs – Brian Saville, Mark Kelly, Ralph Hall

South Coffs/Coffs Swans – Steve Lavis, Ken McGrath, Steve Shelley

Nambucca Valley – Trent Baade, Jimmy Angel, Andy Johnston, Steve Schmidt, Greg Boatfield, Barry Toohey, Dave McCormack

Port Macquarie – Paul Wilson, John Stangerlin, Paul Sheldon, Anthony Beasley

Grafton – Warren Bagnall, James Hourigan, Gail Timmons, Kevin Dixon

Woolgoolga – EJ Merrick, Ivan McDonald, John Muggeridge

Coffs Harbour Breakers – Jay Guthrie, Alan Clayton, Jason Sincock, Trevor Windmill, Ben Watson, Kirsten Burow

Sawtell/Toormina – Bob Crutchfield, Dave Rava, Alex Pearson, Mick Britton, John Arnold

Casino Lions – David Heath

Lismore Swans – Phillip Tsourlinis, Daniel Bruce



Leave a Reply