Club Fours Champions John Parkinson, Sean Mearrick, Ken Devlin and Richard Lee

2018 Club Fours Champions John Parkinson, Sean Mearrick, Ken Devlin and Richard Lee.
2018 Club Fours Champions John Parkinson, Sean Mearrick, Ken Devlin and Richard Lee.


Tea Gardens Men’s Bowling Club

17 January

Tea Gardens Country ClubModern Media: Advertise with News Of The Area and you get your ad in 1) in Print, 2) on the News Website (like this ad), and 3) on our Social Media news site. A much more efficient way to advertise. Reach a HUGE audience for a LOW price TODAY! Call us on 02 4983 2134. Or [email protected]

The regular starting time for Wednesday Bowls was put back to enable the Women’s Bowling Club to have a bowling session with Australian and World No1. Karen Murphy.

The Club nonetheless had a good roll up for twilight 3.00 pm bowls with 30 players enjoying 12 ends of triples.

There were some close scores but the winners with a runaway score of 30 points and winning 10 ends were Lance Atkins, Pip Sullivan and Greg Pearson.

Second on 27 points were Alan Greenhalgh’s team of Bruce Everitt and Paul Carter.

19 January

The usual 18 stalwarts played today in the Open Friday (not-for-profit) Pairs.

There were 3 games of Pairs and 1 game of Triples played.

It’s nice to see the winners shared around and those with boasting rights were; Peter King and Col Saillard.

They edged out the triples combination of Barry Goode, Dave Ransome and Neil Kibble.

Despite just playing for bragging rights there is always some fierce competition on Fridays.

20 January

The semi-finals of the Club Championship Fours was played today with the favoured Sean Mearrick team reconstituted with John Parkinson substituting for Anthony Grant.

Along with Ken Devlin and Richard Lee, they opposed a determined combination of Geoff Page, Greg Smith, Noel Jackson and Jeff Baker.

For the second time in the competition, the hot favourites were taken to an extra end winning 21-20 on the 22nd.
In the remaining semi-final, Peter Gurney, Ian Baker, Daryl Martin and Col Amos struggled early and at the half-way mark the scores were tied at 10-10.

After that they powered away from the Tony Coomer, Bob Weir, Brian Emmett and Ron Webster four to make the final 20-16.

It was good to see popular bowler, Bob Weir back from a long break. He substituted for Neil Kibble, struck down with a 24 hour virus.

21 January

In the final of the Club Championship Fours played today the “dream Team” of Ken Devlin, John Parkinson, Richard Lee and Sean Mearrick were having no part in close finishes.

Opposing the Col Amos side of Peter Gurney, Ian Baker, Daryl Martin, they put the Championship beyond doubt when they hit the lead at the 7th end leaving their opposition stranded on 6 points for 11 of the remaining ends.

They won 32-9 in a dominating performance.

Congratulations to them and all competitors for competing.

Special thanks to Ron Green who acted as umpire for most of proceedings.

In other news:

The draw for the Club Minor Singles Championship has been completed with play commencing next Saturday and Sunday 27/28 January.

Nominations for the Minor pairs will be called for next week and the first round scheduled 24th February.



Leave a Reply