Doris Glasson’s Aboriginal artwork wins competition for Manly Warringah Sea Eagles Jersey 2017

Connor Benjamin and Jenny Frost.
Connor Benjamin and Jenny Frost.


Nelson Bay Golf Club

The 2017 Club Championships Results:

Totally WorkwearModern Media: Advertise with News Of The Area and you get your ad in 1) in Print, 2) on the News Website (like this ad), and 3) on our Social Media news site. A much more efficient way to advertise. Reach a HUGE audience for a LOW price TODAY! Call us on 02 4983 2134. Or [email protected]

Sunday 19th saw the completion of the 2017 Club Championship competitions with the concluding 4th round of the Mens’ Event. A large crowd gathered on the balcony of the new Clubhouse to watch the final group play out the 18th hole of the Mens’ Event. In the presentation that followed both the Ladies’ 2017 Champion, Jenny Frost, together with the Men’s 2017 Champion, Connor Benjamin, were acknowledged by the Members. Jenny, who comes from a family that is deeply connected to the Club, won with a total, for the 4 rounds, of 352 from Rhondda Shaw on 353. Connor, who is still a Junior, with 298 won by an incredible 34 strokes. Mike Harris was Runner-up with 329. Connor’s achievement marks a major milestone in the history of the Club. Congratulations to both players on their achievements in 2017 and continued success in 2018.

Highlights of the week:

Congratulations to the following players in Wednesday’s Mens Comp:

Anthony Diemar scoring an Eagle on the Par 5, 440 metres, 18th hole
Dave Owens, following his success in the Club Championships, scoring 46 points
To each of the 21 players who scored 40 points and above
Congratulations to Tim Chaplin who scooped the Superpin on the 5th hole in Saturday’s Comp
Congratulations to Kaye Porter one of the Club’s Octogenarians who took out C Grade and with his partner took out the 2BBB in Saturdays’ C2 Men’s Comp.

Saturday saw the final of the Handiskins with a pool of $800. Peter Henry was the Winner with Philip Gee Kee taking Runner-up. Max Stocker and Josh Rimmer shared Third place.

Results for the period:

SUNDAY 19th:

Mens’ 2017 Championship over 4 Rounds: Gross: A grade: Club Champion Connor Benjamin 298, Runner-up Mike Harris 329; B Grade: Champion Tino Rossi 338, Runner-up Leigh Messner 344; C Grade: Champion Dave Owens 372, Runner-up Graeme Brown 374. Net: A grade: Winner Scott Quinn 293, Runner-up Peter Murray 296; B Grade:
Winner Jack Rowland 290, Runner-up Mark Woods 292; C Grade: Winner Errol Shaw 283, Runner-up Brian Pobje 287. Junior Champion Connor Benjamin. Senior Champion Mike Harris.

Ladies Stableford: Div 1: Winner Dianne McLean 36. Div 2: Winner Pat Andrews 36. Mens Stableford: A Grade:
Winner Lance Hora 43, B Grade: Peter Collins 37.

MONDAY 20th:

Vets’ John E. O’Shea Memorial Day 9 hole Stableford: Div 1: Winner Rob Butler 23½, Runner-up Rob Handford 27, Best Net Rob Butler 31½. Div 2: Winner David Heath 24, Runner-up Doug Curtis 30½, Best Net David Heath 32.


C1 Mens Stableford: A Grade: Winner Ray Wright 41, Runner-up Dennis Knight 38 c/b, Third place Mark Barden 38; B Grade: Winner Dave Owens 46, Runner-up Mike Selmo 42 c/b, Third place Ray Moore 42; C Grade: Winner Glen Arndell 43 c/b, Runner-up Nigel Waters 43 c/b, Third place Lee Barrett 43. C2 Mens Stableford: A Grade: Winner Murray Atkins 40 c/b, Runner-up Paul Devine 40, Third place Peter Metham 38; B Grade: Winner Barry Elliott 44 c/b, Runner-up Ray Carruthers 44, Third place Mathew Bliss 41; C Grade: Winner Ron Willock 40, Runner-up John Brewer 39 c/b, Third place Peter Griffin 39.


Vets 9 hole Stableford: Overall Winner Peter Ballard 22, Runner-up Denis Evans 21.

FRIDAY 24th:

Ladies Stableford: Div 1: Winner Colleen Beattie 39, Runner-up Susie Anderson 37. Div 2: Winner Patricia Hawkins 41, Runner-up Margaret Ball 38.

Mens Stableford: A Grade: Winner Philippe Donoso 38: B Grade: Winner Robert Paul 39 c/b, Runner-up Neville George 39: C Grade: Winner Ron Sutton 38, Runner-up Tim Schafer 37.


C1: Stableford: A Grade: Winner Jim Ball 44, Runner-up Peter Power 39: B Grade: Winner Tim Chaplin 42, Runner-up Paul McTackett (Kiama G. C.) 40: C Grade: Winner Gary Troon 41, Runner-up Kevin Humphreys 38. 2BBB in Conjunction Winners McTackett + Sheldrake (Vis) 52. C2 Mens Stableford: A Grade: Winner Eric Kidd 40, Runner-up Mikeal Christiansen 37: B Grade: Winner Tony Hogan 42, Runner-up Malcolm Baker 39: C Grade: Winner Kaye Porter 41, Runner-up John Fletcher 40. 2BBB in Conjunction Winners Porter + Hodges 48.


By David & Rhona BIRSS

Leave a Reply