Female Writers Shine in Port Stephens Literature Awards

Previous winner, Shoal Bay’s Kath Cridland, receiving awards from Cr. Steve Tucker.


THIS year some 70% of the winning stories in ‘The Port Stephens Literature Awards’ went to female writers.

Over 100 short stories were received from across the country and several local writers made the top twenty.

The ‘Readers’ Choice’ award was taken out by Carolyn Parfitt from Shoal Bay with her short story ‘Stolen and Found’.

This award is given by the ten initial judges before the stories are submitted to the three finalists’ judges.

Carolyn also took out a ‘Commended’ award.

Kath Cridland from Shoal Bay, a previous winner, was highly commended for her story ‘Uncertain Times’ as was Medowie’s Susan Bowen for her tale ‘The Hour Before Midnight.’

Marcia Wakeman from Mallabula was commended for her entry ‘Mrs Taylor’s Letter.’

All award winners will receive their certificates and prizes via mail in the very near future.

These awards are made possible by the generous support of Club Lemon Tree, News Of The Area and the dedicated judges from TACE.

Complete Results – Port Stephens Literature Awards 2020

1st    $300  Club Lemon Tree Award.

‘Haiku’                                  Nellie Crawford                Fremantle              WA.


2nd   $150 News Of The Area Award.

‘Viola Da Gamba’                 Christine Johnson              Rozelle                 NSW.


3rd  $50  TACE Award.

‘Lakefront’                            Debora  Huff- Horwood      Kingston                ACT.


Readers’ Choice Award. $50

‘Stolen and Found’               Carolyn Parfitt                    Shoal Bay             NSW.


Most Highly Commended $25

‘One Born Every Minute’      Jim Brigginshaw                Alstonville             NSW.

‘Scar Sisters’                        Christine Johnson              Rozelle                 NSW.


Highly Commended (In random order)


‘Chasing Butterflies’             Vicki Walker                       Orange                 NSW.     


‘The Bus Stop’                     Kerry Whalen                     Varsity Lakes       QLD


‘Uncertain Times’                 Kath Cridland                     Shoal Bay             NSW.


‘Clean’                                  Rose Lamack                     Maryland              NSW.


‘The First Day’                     Jennifer Bryce                    Elwood                 VIC


‘Dearest Cuz’                      Carmel Lillis                        Yarraville              VIC.


‘Flying Solo’                         Greg Mc Farland                Orange                 NSW.    


‘The Hour Before Midnight’  Susan Bowen                    Medowie               NSW.



Commended (In random order)


‘Stolen and Found’              Carolyn Parfitt                     Shoal Bay             NSW.


‘Mrs Taylor’s Letter’            Marcia Wakeman               Mallabula             NSW.


‘Run Marlee Run’                Colleen Russell                  Avalon Beach       NSW.


‘I.B’                                        Bill Bean                             Tomerong            NSW.


‘A Jolly Family’                      Jan Forrester                      Erina                    NSW.


‘Ventilating’                           Andrew Nest                       Burwood East     VIC.


‘The Best Dressed Truckie’  Gary Hurle                           Calulu                   VIC.


Leave a Reply