Hawks Nest Lady Vets Golf Club celebrate big year

Division One: Jo Buttrey, Annie Benton, Jeanette Kemp, Trish Collins.


IT was celebration time last week at the Golf Club for the Hawks Nest Lady Vets with a fun novelty game followed by their annual Presentation day.

With 80 lady players in attendance for the presentation of Championship trophies for 2021, they were able to enjoy a lovely luncheon provided by the new PK’s restaurant.

Ladies president Pat Dodd, thanked all in attendance for their support throughout what was a challenging season.

“It was pleasing to see so many of the senior ladies still being able to get out onto the course to play their golf and stay active throughout the covid lockdown period.

“Well done ladies,” she said.

Pat also extended a special thank you to Club Professional, Andrew McCormack for his continued support to ladies golf, and to Ben Mills and his staff for the sensational presentation of the Hawks Nest golf course throughout the year.

Congratulations go to the Lady Vets Champion and Division 1 winner for 2021 – Annie Benton, with runner-up being Jo Buttrey.

Division 2 winner was Judy Benson and runner-up Robyn Richardson.

Division 3 was won by popular long term Veteran Pam Kelly, with runner-up Sue Hair.

Another highlight of the day was to acknowledge the major milestones celebrated throughout the year – hearty congratulations were extended to wonderful lady golfers Helen Maguire and Diane Allen on their amazing 90th birthdays.

Floral arrangements were also presented to Pat Dodd, Elsa Jones, Sylvia Boland, Elke Greenhalgh and Wendy Hayward for their 80th birthdays.

The Hawks Nest Lady Vets golfers committee were thanked by all for their organisation and support throughout 2021.

Many thanks to Pat Dodd, Fran Henderson, Janet Moore, Di Smith and Sue Hair for your wonderful contribution and we look forward to another great year of golf in 2022.

Champions for 2021

Ladies Champion Division 1: Annie Benton

Runner-up: o Buttrey

Ladies Division 1 nett: Jeanette Kemp

Runner-up: Trish Collins

Ladies Champion Division 2: Judy Benson

Runner-up: Robyn Richardson

Ladies Division 2 nett: Elsa Jones

Runner-up: Shirley Pearson

Ladies Champion Division 3: Pam Kelly

Runner-up: Sue Hair

Ladies Division 3 nett: Viv Ballinger

Runner-up: June Martin

Lady Vets Trophy: Trish Sattler

Runner-up: Ann Morris

Grandmother’s Trophy: Trish Sattler

Runner-up: Sue Hair

President Captain’s Trophy: June Biddle




Leave a Reply