Karuah Roos Rugby League side winn their grand final match

Dwayne Fleming holds the premiership trophy up high.
Dwayne Fleming holds the premiership trophy up high.

Karuah Roos rugby League

LAST Saturday the Karuah Roos travel to Harker Oval at New Lambton for the 2016 Grand Final match against the Minor Premiers the Hinton Hornets.

It has been 41 years since the Roos last won a grand final.

The Hornets kick off.

Hawks Nest Golf Club
Modern Media: Advertise with News Of The Area and you get your ad in 1) in Print, 2) on the News Website (like this ad), and 3) on our Social Media news site. A much more efficient way to advertise. Reach a HUGE audients for a LOW price TODAY! Call us on 02 4983 2134. Or [email protected]

And the game started with a very high intensity and a couple of early errors from the Roos, lead to the Hornets scoring 2 quick tries in the first 7mins.

Big hits by Daniel Evans, Jack Croese, Ben Langdon, Aden Callaghan, Matt Croese, Dwayne Fleming, Josh Page and Matt Cameron.

Karuah Roos kept their cool and hit back 15mins with a try through #7 Daniel Evans.

The Roos maintained  the pressure and a scored another try off the kick by #3 Josh Page which was regathered by #5 Dylan Foley who scored in the corner. With #6 Sam Croese’s boot hitting the ball on the mark to convert both try’s 12/8 Roos way.

Great meters were made by Ben Langdon, Luke Chapman, Daniel Evan, Matt Cameron, Aden Callaghan, Matt Croese, Jack Langdon, Josh Page and Darren Weatherall.

Then just before the half time hooter went #4 Ryan Saunders scored and Sam Croese converted to take the score to 18/8 at half time.

The second half seemed to start much the same as the first with the Hornets over the line in the first 2mins 14/18.

Roos man to watch Josh Page was in and with Sam converting 24/14.

The hits were coming hard and fast by the Roos Ben Langdon, Daniel Evans, Aden Callaghan, Ryan Saunders, Jack Croese, Sam Croese,  Matt Cameron, Shannon Bills, Mitch O’Bryan, Jake Langdon, Tim Johnson and Dylan Foley.

Runners were Matt Croese, Ben Langdon, Dylan Foley, Ryan Saunders, Daniel Evans, Mitch O’Bryan, Tim Johnson, Darren Weatherall, Dwayne Fleming and Matt Cameron.

The Hornets were not going down without a fight they were in with 5mins to full time to take the score to Hinton Hornets 20 Karuah Roos 24.

With the last 2mins Hinton were hard at their line but the Roos keep their heads and held them up and out from the try line.

The Karuah Roos supporters erupted as the final hooter sounded with the Roos winning the Grand Final for 2016 24/20.

The N&HRL Committee members pick the Man of the Match for the 2016 “D”grade grand final as #7 from the Karuah Roos Daniel Evans.

The committee congratulate all the boys on a fantastic win and a great season.


By Sonja EVANS


Ryan Saunders heading for his try.
Ryan Saunders heading for his try.


Man of the Match for the 201 Daniel Evans heading for his try.
Man of the Match for the 201 Daniel Evans heading for his try.


The Karuah team photo.
The Karuah team photo.


                                                                          Photos: Sharon Wedd



Leave a Reply