Nelson Bay Golf Club Highlights

Amy Squires.
Amy Squires.


Nelson Bay Golf Club

THE blustery, and cold conditions didn’t deter Amy Squire’s drive and ambition in the NSW PSSA Women’s Championships at Camden Lakeside.

IPS Plumbing services pty ltdModern Media: Advertise with News Of The Area and you get your ad in 1) in Print, 2) on the News Website (like this ad), and 3) on our Social Media news site. A much more efficient way to advertise. Reach a HUGE audience for a LOW price TODAY! Call us on 02 4983 2134. Or [email protected][/caption]

Despite her commitment she was unable to overcome the age difference between her and her competition.

Amy is 10 years old. The average age of the field was 12.

Finishing at 15th was a very creditable achievement.

Congratulations Amy from everyone at the Golf Club. A fantastic experience, which Amy will capitalise upon as she looks to next year’s event.


Congratulations Ted Smith, scoring 42 points in Sundays’ competition to win his Grade and to take out Overall Winner in the Men’s event.

Congratulations Jim McGlone, scoring 42 points in Saturday’s competition to win his Grade and to take out Overall Winner in the C2 Men’s event.

Congratulations Kathy Edmunds, scoring 40 points in Friday’s competition to win her Grade and to take out Overall Winner in the Ladies’ event.

Saturdays’ Mens Comp C 1:

Garry Hall landed the perfect Eagle on the 18th hole.

Ian Davidson scored a very creditable 45 to lead C Grade and to take-out Overall Leader in the Men’s field.
Saturday’s Men’s Comp C 2:

James Marshall landed the perfect Eagle on the 26th hole.

Mark Galloway scored a very creditable 45 to lead A Grade.

Michael Betlinski scored a very creditable 45 to lead B Grade.


10/09: Ladies Stableford: Div 1 Winner Heather Atkins 34: Div 2 Winner Robyn Rocher (vis) 38. Men’s Stableford: A Grade Winner Ross Lalor 36: B Grade Winner Barry Elliott 39: C Grade Winner Ted Smith 42.

11/09: Vets 9 hole Stableford: Div 1: Winner John Ducrou 30, Peter Page 28, Best Net Peter Page 22 c/b. Div 2: Winner Norm Drummond 29 c/b, Stephen Mitchell 29, Peter Page 28, Best Net John Stuhmcke 21 c/b.

12/09: Port Stephens Accommodation’s Ladies Golf Classic: 36 hole Stroke Event: Div 1 Scratch: Winner Jenny Thompson (Newcastle) 170, Runner-Up Jenny Frost (Nelson Bay) 171, Third Place Jill Blenkey (Newcastle) 172. Div 1 Net : Winner Barbara Randall (Pacific Dunes) 148 c/b, Runner-up Marilyn Trelcar (Horizons) 148, Third Barbara Frost (Nelson Bay) 149. Div 2 Scratch: Winner Elsie Flanagan (Nelson Bay) 193, Runner-Up Marlene McKewan (Bayview) 194, Third Place Denise King (Bayview) 198. Div 2 Net : Winner Janice Ingleton (Nelson Bay) 147, Runner-up Lisa Zalitis (Avalon) 148 c/b, Third place Anne Craig (Wagga) 148. Div 3 36 hole Stableford Event: Winner Maureen McKay (Russell Vale) 73, Runner-up Kim Turner (Bayview) 72, Third place Lyn Stump (Wakehurst) 70.

13/09: C 1: Individual Stableford: A Grade; Winner Dennis Knight 36 c/b, Runner-up Garry Hall 36: B Grade; Winner Ivan Skoda 39, Runner-up Elio Rigon 38: C Grade; Winner Terrence Long 41, Runner-up Ian Davidson 40. 2BB in-conjunction Overall Winners Davidson + Stanfield 47.C 2: Individual Stableford: A Grade; Winner Ron Castles 39, Runner-up Peter Beatty 38: B Grade; Winner Dave Flatt 40, Runner-up Bob Lawson 39: C Grade; Winner Jim McGlone 42, Runner-up Geoff Cavanagh 41.

14/09: Port Stephens Accommodation’s Ladies Golf Classic: Stableford 4 Person Team 2 Scores to count: Gymea Lily: Winners Margie Kerr + Liz Kalousek + Di Croft + Jenny Syme (Nelson Bay) 87, Runners-up Judy Gailey+ Lyn Stump + Christine Carlyn + Di Edwards (Wakehurst) 84, Third place Linda Drake + Ronnie Shaw + Barbara Frost + Robyn Lunn (Nelson Bay) 83. Xmas Bush: Winners Debbie Sate + Janeen Macfarlene + Maureen Franklin + Claire Harding (Wakehurst) 86 c/b, Runners-up Marg Stagis + Maureen Wheatley + Colleen Fishburn + Shirley Anicich (Nelson Bay) 86, Third place Bel Hill + Ruth Buchanan + Lyn Hollier + Di Moon (Nelson Bay) 85. Brush Box: Winners Marj Margan + Robyn Hemberg + Charmaine Paterson + Elsie Flanagan (Nelson Bay) 83, Runners-up Fran Guides + Judy Schultz + Marilyn Treloar + Janet Petith (Nelson Bay) 82, Third place Ros Metham + Suzie Davis + Liz Tinkler + Annette Jones (Nelson Bay) 77 c/b. Vets 9 hole Stableford: Overall Winner Peter Triston 19 c/b, Runner-up Doug Curtis 19.

15/09: Ladies Stableford: Div 1: Winner Kathy Edmunds 40; Div 2: Winner Anne Newman 37. Men’s Stableford: A Grade: Winner Chris Mawson 35, Runner-up Robert Castle 34; B Grade: Winner Ted Smith 39 c/b, Runner-up Warren Parkinson 39; C Grade: Winner John Maslen 36 c/b, Runner-up Ray Rumble 36.

16/09: C1 Men’s Stableford: A Grade; Winner Allan Daubaras 41, Runner-up Jim Ball 39: B Grade; Winner Peter Miers 40, Runner-up Peter Power 39: C Grade; Winner Ian Davidson 45, Runner-up Russell Lightfoot 43. 2BBB in conjunction: Overall Winners Lightfoot + Hughes 53. C 2 Men’s Stableford: A Grade; Winner Mark Galloway 45, Runner-up Peter Metham 39: B Grade; Winner Michael Betlinski 45, Runner-up Lindsay Potts 41: C Grade; Winner George Fynn 37 c/b, Runner-up Ray Carruthers 37.


By David & Rhona BIRSS

Leave a Reply