Nelson Bay Golf Club Results

Julie Newsham (Nelson Bay), Helena Miksevicius (Everglades), Catharine Pyke (Wagga), Janelle Tolhurst (Nelson Bay).
Julie Newsham (Nelson Bay), Helena Miksevicius (Everglades), Catharine Pyke (Wagga), Janelle Tolhurst (Nelson Bay).


Weather-endless blue skies; Golf Course-perfect condition with the recent rain and the warm sunshine; Lady Players: looking forward to renewing friendships and playing in a relaxed but competitive atmosphere. The Nelson Bay Ladies Classic, sponsored this year by Place Property Management, has been running for over 20 years. Considered, within the Newcastle District, to be the premier Ladies’ event, with scores counting towards the final results for the NSW’s Jean Derrin Trophy and the Newcastle District’s Beryl Tobin Trophy. 179 players registered for the Monday and Tuesday events with 180 registered for the Thursday event. These numbers include visitors from Clubs from Surfers down to Canberra. Large groups from Bayview and Long Reef on the Northern Beaches return year after year to enjoy the facilities within easy reach of the Town Centre and the chance to play in the company of the kangaroos and the wild-life that is very active on the golf course.

AP NonBroadcast AUSModern Media: Advertise with News Of The Area and you get your ad in 1) in Print, 2) on the News Website (like this ad), and 3) on our Social Media news site. A much more efficient way to advertise. Reach a HUGE audience for a LOW price TODAY! Call us on 02 4983 2134. Or

Highlights of the week:
Congratulations to both Alan Daubaras and Chris Mawson, both scoring Eagles in Saturday’s comp. Alan’s Eagle was on the 374 metre, Par 4, 10th. Chris bagged his on the 438 metre, Par 5, 27th.

Results round-up:


The Nelson Bay Ladies Classic: Daily Event:

Div 1: Sratch: Winner Jenny Thompson (Newcastle) 82, Runner-up Michelle Hughes (Breakers) 88. Nett: Winner Michelle Paul (Duntryleague) 67, Colleen Beattie 71.

Div 2: Scratch: Winner Marlene McKewon (Bayview) 99, Runner-up Charmaine Elliott 101. Nett: Winner Jan Pike (Avalon) 72, Runner-up Simone Irvine 72.

Div 3: Stableford: Winner Jeanie Punshon 37 c/b, Runner-up Robin Mason (Bayview) 37, Third place Anne-Lise Heltborg (Bayview) 36 c/b, Fourth place Maree Pickthall (Russellvale) 36


The Nelson Bay Ladies Classic: Daily Event:

Div 1: Scratch: Winner Jenny Frost 87 c/b, Runner-up Celine Chin (Gosford) 87. Nett: Winner Julie Newsham 74 c/b, Runner-up Michelle Paul (Duntryleague) 74.

Div 2: Scratch: Winner Charmaine Elliott 92, Runner-up Judith Hocking (Everglades) 96. Nett: Winner Gay Stone (Duntryleague) 74 c/b, Runner-up Roz Kelly 74.

Div 3: Stableford: Winner Margot Phegan 37, Runner-up Jill Scully (Bayview) 35, Third place Anne-Lise Heltborg (Bayview) 34 c/b, Fourth place Judy Spicer (Avalon) 34.

The Nelson Bay Ladies Classic: 36 Hole Event:

Div 1: Scratch: Winner Jenny Thompson (Newcastle) 172, Runner-up Jenny Frost 176. Nett: Winner Michelle Paul (Duntryleague) 140, Runner-up Colleen Beattie 147.

Div 2: Scratch: Winner Charmaine Elliott 193, Runner-up Marlene McKewen (Bayview) 201. Nett: Winner Simone Irvine 148, Runner-up Diane Doering (Bayview) 150.

Div 3: Stableford: Winner Anne-Lise Heltborg (Bayview) 70, Runner-up Margot Phegan 69, Third place Carolyn Morgan (Bayview) 68 c/b, Fourth place Robyn Mason (Bayview) 68.


Mens Stableford + 2BBB Stableford:

Course 1: A Grade: Winner Mark Barden 40, Runner-up David Rann 39. B Grade: Winner Greg Spake 42, Runner-up Dave Owens 40. C Grade: Winner Elio Rigon 40, Runner-up Gary Jones 39. 2BBB Winners Elio Rigon + Dennis Knight 49. Runners-up Ray Newton + Greg Spake 48.

Course 2: A Grade: Winner Peter Fulton 41, Runner-up Paul Devine 39. B Grade: Winner Michael Lloyd 41 c/b, Runner-up Alan Fisher 41. C Grade: Winner Neville George 40 c/b, Runner-up Peter Dee 40. 2BBB Winners John McDonald + Neil Lembcke 47. Runners-up Michael Lloyd + Bruce Scott 46.


Ladies Teams 2 best Stableford per hole:

Gymea Lily: Winners Sue Jolliffe + Amanda Feldmayer + Pam Feldmayer (Horizons) + Vicki Davies (Horizons) 87, Runners-up Judy Ryan + Claire Compton + Jean o’Reilly + Carol Townsend 86 c/b, Third place Jeanette Fey + Jo White + Robyn Kennett + Jenny Runyard 86.

Christmas Bush: Winners Jane Foster + Catherine Smith + Paula Regan + Di Herbert 91 , Runners-up Jeanette Ferrier + Pat Phipps + Sue Devlin + Di Croft 88, Third Place Lyn Hollier + Pat Harrold + Ruth Buchanan + Di Scobie (Yowani) 83.

Brush Box: Winners Tania Davis (Vintage) + Helen Kinsey (Vintage) + Donna Goddard (Vintage) + Vic Cooper (Vintage) 93, Runners-up Eve Sheppard (Gordon) + Gwenda Bates (N.B.) + Karin Stander (Gordon) + Rosemary Kimber (Gordon), Third Place Di Brown + Jeanie Punshon + Linda Drake + Gail Murray 83.
Mens Vets: Stableford:

Overall: Winner P Triston 23, Runner-up A Biscombe 19 c/b.


Ladies Stableford:

Div 1: Winner Susie Anderson 37, Runner-up Robyn Butler 33. Div 2: Winner Pam Cleare 36, Runner-up Suzanne Conrades 35.

Mens Stableford:

A Grade: Winner Stuart Phegan 37, Runner-up Emile Billett 36. B Grade: Winner Terry Butler 40, Runner-up Mike Selmo 35. C Grade: Winner Terry Gannon 35 c/b, Runner-up Theo Rutten 35.


Mens Stableford with 2BBB in conjunction

Course 1: A Grade: Winner Brad McKay40, Runner-up Mark Galloway 40. B Grade: Winner Steve Fogwill 47, Runner-up Lindsay Hair 42. C Grade: Winner Terry Barry 40, Runner-up Graham Jeffes (vis) 38. 2BBB: Winners LLoyd Goodwin + Steve Fogwill 52.

Course 2: A Grade: Winner Ray Wright 42, Runner-up Stuart Phegan 39. B Grade: Winner Peter Fagan 40, Runner-up Michael Day 39. C Grade: Winner Les Williams 40, Runner-up Gary Walker 39. 2BBB Winners: Peter Fagan + Peter Carter 49

Ladies Stableford:

Overall: Winner Kaye Holmes (vis) 35.


By David & Rhona BIRSS


Norma Hocking, Ladies Vice President; Joan Frost, Patroness; Jenny Thompson, Newcastle Golf Club; Pam Norman, Ladies Captain.
Norma Hocking, Ladies Vice President; Joan Frost, Patroness; Jenny Thompson, Newcastle Golf Club; Pam Norman, Ladies Captain.

Leave a Reply