New Committee for Tea Gardens Women’s Bowling Club

Vice President Margaret Smith with new committee members Kayelene Pearson, Dot Dallas, Ingrid Luck, Dale Winter and Bette Saillard.
Vice President Margaret Smith with new committee members Kayelene Pearson, Dot Dallas, Ingrid Luck, Dale Winter and Bette Saillard.

Tea Gardens Women’s Bowling Club

Tea Gardens Hawks Nest Antenna Services
Modern Media: Advertise with News Of The Area and you get your ad in 1) in Print, 2) on the News Website (like this ad), and 3) on our Social Media news site. A much more efficient way to advertise. Reach a HUGE audience for a LOW price TODAY! Call us on 02 4983 2134. Or [email protected]


ON Tuesday 18 July there was a good turn up of bowlers.

The format for play was four games of Triples.

On Rink 1 Dorothy Thompson, Kerry Faber and Jill McBride had a convincing victory over Bev Dunn, Lynda Richards and Karen McPhie 22 v 11.

A similar story on Rink 2 where Dot Dallas, Julie Kennedy and Lorraine Harvey came in winners also by 11 shots against Francis Betar, Bev Stephens and Maynie Roberts.

Interestingly, the games played on Rink 3 and 4 were both very close contests.

Wilma Drake, Kathie Rimmer and Carol Hayden 19 v Ingrid Luck, Pam Gilchrist and Dale Winter 18.
Carol’s team had a lead of ten shots on the sixth end.

Dale’s team managed to win the next four ends narrowing the lead to two shots at the end of the 10th.

Then as “luck would have it” or perhaps with some great bowling, Carol’s team scored 7 shots on the next two ends.

This gave them a nine point lead but Dale’s team didn’t give up scoring 9 shots over the next 6 ends compared to the other teams 1 shot.

But this 1 shot gave them the game. Well played both teams.

The game on Rink 3 was a very close match all the way.

Bette Saillard, Jean Glover and Lynne Green winning over Pauline Perry, Lily Smith and Kayelene Pearson 17 v 16. Winners on the day with a win plus shots were Dot Dallas, Julie Kennedy and Lorraine Harvey.

Prior to play Club President Robyn Webster announced the final Committee members and presented them with their badges.

Great to see Margaret Smith continuing as Vice President.

Welcome to the new Social Committee members Dot Dallas, Ingrid Luck, Dale Winter and Bette Saillard and Kayelene Pearson, Match Committee.

I guess the cold weather kept a lot of our members indoors on Thursday 20 July.

Only six bowlers turned up for a game, great to see one of these bowlers was Anne Mackenzie.

Anne has been away from bowls for awhile.

Due to lack of numbers we had a “roll up”.

Karen McPhie, Bette Saillard and Loretta Baker winning by approximately 12 shots over Francis Betar, Lynda Richards and Anne Mackenzie.

Well done to our two teams that entered the Newcastle District Triples Competition.

Karen Green, Maynie Roberts and Kayelene Pearson bowled at Cardiff on Tuesday this team progressed to Round 2 where they unfortunately were narrowly defeated by a Raymond Terrace team 18 v 21.

Our other team consisting of Vicki Rankin, Lynne Green and Lorraine Harvey played at Soldiers Point.
Having a win and a bye they have now progressed to Round 3 in the competition.

The team will next be in action at Raymond Terrace on Monday 24 July, a win here will secure them a place in the semi-finals. It’s good to see our teams competing in District events and achieving great results against some very formable bowlers.



Leave a Reply