Tea Gardens Men’s Bowling Club congratulates 2017 Club Champion

Club Champion for 2017, Sean Mearrick, and runner-up, Steve Pell.
Club Champion for 2017, Sean Mearrick, and runner-up, Steve Pell.


Tea Gardens Men’s Bowling Club


IT would be an understatement to state that the rain during the past weeks has put paid to any attempts to hold scheduled bowling competitions.

Wednesday Nominated Triples appears to be a thing of the past with no play in three weeks.

Friday Open Jackpot Pairs has fared no better.

The lady bowlers have had more success with some fine days to play their events.

However, amidst the gloom the semifinals and finals of the Club Major Singles Championship were played albeit in overcast and cold conditions.

On 3 June the semi-finals were completed on a freezing day with a strong southerly howling down the green.

Steve Pell took on the in-form Jeff Baker in one game and Sean Mearrick challenged Steve Jones in the other.

Jeff Baker could not reproduce his earlier form in his match going down to Steve Pell 22-31.

In the other match, Steve Jones put on a very creditable showing against Sean who eventually prevailed, winning 31-26.

The Final was delayed, due to the holiday weekend, and was completed on Saturday 17 June.

The premier event on the bowling Calendar is always the Club Major Singles Championship and a good gallery of spectators were on hand to witness the Steve Pell, Sean Mearrick game to determine the 2017 Club Champion.

Right from the outset, Sean dominated the game winning 7 out of the first 9 ends.

At that time he had opened up a commanding lead of 15-2.

Usually in bowls there is resurgence from the opponent at about the mid-way mark but, try as he might; Steve just could not mount a comeback.

Sean, runner-up last year, had the trophy in his sights and was relentless, eventually running out the winner 31-18.

Congratulations to all the players who participated in the competition and thanks to all the markers and umpires who assisted in the staging of the competition.

The Club salutes its 2017 Club Champion; Sean Mearrick.

Well played Sean!




NOTA_Position Vacant_220617

Leave a Reply