Tea Gardens Women’s Bowling Club weekly results

Lorraine Murphy (runner up) with Dale Winter, winner Club  Major Singles Championship 2018.
Lorraine Murphy (runner up) with Dale Winter, winner Club Major Singles Championship 2018.


Tea Gardens Women’s Bowling Club

Myall Coast LegalModern Media: Advertise with News Of The Area and you get your ad in 1) in Print, 2) on the News Website (like this ad), and 3) on our Social Media news site. A much more efficient way to advertise. Reach a HUGE audience for a LOW price TODAY! Call us on 02 4983 2134. Or media@newsofthearea.com.au

Tuesday 1st May: Semi Final of Club Major Singles Competition to be played. On Rink 10 Lorraine Murphy v Kayelene Pearson. The score on the 12th end was 9 all, then Lorraine gained 9 shots over the next 4 ends. On the 19th end Lorraine led by 10 shots 20 v 10, she was just shy of 5 points to claim victory. Kayelene wasn’t giving in that easily, scoring 8 shots in 4 ends. On completion of the 23rd end just a 2 point difference. Lorraine claimed victory on the 27th end, final score 25 v 19. Marker: Pat Baker. The other semi final was between Dale Winter and Bette Saillard bowled on Rink 12. Bette started strongly holding a lead of 7 on the 4th end. Dale managed to equalise the score by the 9th end and never really looked back, winning 25 v 17 after 21 ends. Marker: Lynne Green. Great bowling by all competitors, a pleasure to watch bowling of this standard. Thanks to Umpire Pam Gilchrist and Controlling Body Karen McPhie. Format for social bowls was 2 games of Fours. Pauline Perry, Ingrid Luck, Bev Stephens and Wendy Jones 27 v Dianne Kiss, Jo Younghusband, Jill McBride and Deyonne Page 20. Jean Glover, Robyn Webster, Kerry Faber and Lynda Richards 25 v Francis Betar, Bev Dunn, Dorothy Thompson and Julie Kennedy 8. The winners on the day with the lowest winning margin were Wendy’s team. Birthday greetings to Ingrid Luck and Dianne Kiss.

Thursday 3rd May: Final of the Club Major Singles. Dale Winter v Lorraine Murphy. What a great final it was. Lorraine leading in the early stages of the match but Dale sent down some magnificent bowls and took control of events, gaining a significant lead. The score was 24 v 12 Dale just requiring 1 more point to be declared the Club Major Single Champion for 2018. Lorraine obviously had other ideas and kept Dale scoreless for the next 3 ends but that elusive point was finally achieved. Final score 25 v 19. Congratulations Dale. A final to be remembered by all present. A great job of Marking by Club President Robyn Webster. Thanks to Controlling Body Francis Betar. Everyone enjoyed a delicious lunch catered for by the club restaurant Myall Bistro and Café.

Coming events: TGWBC hosts Round 1 of the District Fours Competition on Tuesday 8th May. Social bowls as usual will be played. Good luck to our District Fours Team Lynda Richards, Kerry Faber, Loretta Baker and Kayelene Pearson. Their first game in this competition is on Thursday 10th May at Karuah Bowling Club.



Leave a Reply