Young sports men and women awarded grants to pursue their sport

The young sportsmen and women who have been awarded grants by Meryl Swanson MP to further their path in their chosen sports.
The young sportsmen and women who have been awarded grants by Meryl Swanson MP to further their path in their chosen sports.


SPORTS stars in the making across Port Stephens and the Hunter Valley were awarded this week for their efforts in their chosen sport.

Mark's Profesional Oven CleaningModern Media: Advertise with News Of The Area and you get your ad in 1) in Print, 2) on the News Website (like this ad), and 3) on our Social Media news site. A much more efficient way to advertise. Reach a HUGE audience for a LOW price TODAY! Call us on 02 4983 2134. Or

Paterson MP Meryl Swanson invited young sportsmen and women aged between 12 and 18 to apply for grants of up to $500 to help them continue to achieve at the highest level.

This Australian Government initiative offers successful young athletes, coaches and officials money that can be used towards the cost of travel, accommodation or equipment.

“I’m delighted to again be able to offer this wonderful opportunity to the young sports men and women of Paterson,” Meryl Swanson said.

“To date we’ve been able to honour and encourage the achievements of boys and girls in sports from motorcycling to diving to ice skating, and everything in between.”

“Money has flowed to children from the coalfields of Kurri Kurri down to Fern Bay right out to beautiful Nelson Bay and we’ve been able to help individual and team achievers receive a welcome financial kick-along to help meet the costs associated in competing at representative level,” she said.

To be considered, young people had to meet a number of criteria.

The event must be an official national sporting organisation endorsed state, national or international championship, or a School Sport Australia state, national or international championship, and applicants must live more than 125km from the championship.

The winning award and grant winners for this year hailed from One Mile, Eagleton, Raymond Terrace, Bobs Farm, Black Hill, Corlette, Medowie, Metford, Raworth, Rutherford, Anna Bay, Aberglasslyn and Chisholm.

The winners are; Chloe Langius, Dallas Johnson, Abigail Teah-Wilson, Hallam Ingram, Buckley Ingram, Lachlan Tresidder, Joshua Bruton, Benjamin Hudson, Benjamin Crebert, Cooper Greedy, Shannon Threlfo, Darcy Blackmore, Joshua Bohan, Taleah Dodd, Ryvah Shoesmith, Liam Dixon, Rebekah Holt and Monty Dixon.


By Rachael VAUGHAN

Leave a Reply