Australians go the poll this Saturday 2 July

THERE are seven candidates for Patterson listed on the Australian Electoral Commission site.
THERE are seven candidates for Patterson listed on the Australian Electoral Commission site.

MORE than 15.6 million Australians will go to the polls this Saturday 2 July to determine the 45th Parliament of Australia.

On Election Day, voters will receive a small green ballot slip for the House of Representatives and a large white ballot paper for the Senate.

In the Myall Coast area, voters will cast their ballot to elect the member for the Federal seat of Lyne.

The six candidates for the seat in order they appear on the ballot paper are Labor’s Peter Alley, Greens Julie Lyford, Christian Democrat Elaine Carter, Independent Brad Christensen, Nationals Dr David Gillespie and Independent Rodger Riach.

On the House of Representatives ballot paper, voters must number every box with consecutive numbers according to their preference.

Voters will also cast their ballot for the Senate.

As always, the white Senate ballot paper is almost a metre widelisting the 151 candidates in the running to fill the twelve vacancies to represent NSW.

Voting rules for the Senate have changed for this Federal Election with new ways to decide preferences on the ballot paper.

Curries & More
Want your business advertised online with the News Of The Area? With 11,383 page-views over the last one month, you’ll reach your online audience & customers. Email us today for a quote:

Voters can either number at least six boxes above the line for parties or groups of their choice or number at least 12 boxes below the line to select individual candidates.

Officials at polling places are available to assist voters in completing their ballot paper.

If you are not in the electoral division of Lyne on Election Day, you can vote at any polling place within NSW or at any interstate voting centre.

Early voting is available at Electoral Offices up until 6.00pm Friday 1 July.

Voting is compulsory for all eligible Australian Citizens.

If a person does not vote and is unable to provide a ‘valid and sufficient’ reason, a penalty will be imposed.

Election Day polling places open at 8.00am and close at 6.00pm sharp.

Where to vote in the Myall Coast Area.

Booral Public School

Bulahdelah Central School

Bungwahl Public School

Hawks Nest Community Hall

Karuah Public School

North Arm Cove Community Centre

Stroud Public School

Stroud Road Public School

Tea Gardens Public School

Visit the AEC website at for more information.




Leave a Reply