Battle of the Sexes at Nelson Bay Golf Club

Julie Newsham, Iain Woodhill.
Julie Newsham, Iain Woodhill.


IT started out very friendly, but, as the appointed time got closer, smiles disappeared, brows began to furrow, hands began to reach out to check that clubs were to-hand.

The Kitchen Centre – Port StephensModern Media: Advertise with News Of The Area and you get your ad in 1) in Print, 2) on the News Website (like this ad), and 3) on our Social Media news site. A much more efficient way to advertise. Reach a HUGE audience for a LOW price TODAY! Call us on 02 4983 2134. Or[/caption]

After-all The Battle was about to begin.

The Battle of the Sexes was played-out last Sunday over 18 holes.

The inaugural event was held in 2012, which the ladies won.

Since then the men have won every event.

With 26 ladies and 22 men in this year’s field, reputations, but more importantly, pride was at stake.

Julie Newsham who, with her husband Tom, in 2012 introduced the event, said, ‘We played this at our previous club, Bayview.”

“We liked the idea of having the variation in partner as players are drawn on a random basis. Sunday’s mixed Medley is normally played with wife/husband/partner. This format widens the circle of connections within the club, fostering the social aspects of the game as well as having fun but with a competitive edge.”

As the scores were being processed by Tom, everyone settled into the now familiar surroundings of the new clubhouse. With drinks in hand, exchanges over the “what ifs”, the “tee-shot that if it had only gone straight…”, or the putt that “if it hadn’t horse-shoed the hole”, each would have made all the difference in the outcome of their game and the result.
Dinner was followed by a short presentation, hosted by Julie Newsham.

The main prize, of course, was the Battle of the Sexes Trophy.

The contest went down to the wire with the final result being the men taking out the 2017 contest.

Iain Woodhill was very pleased to accept the prize on behalf of the winners.

There was an Individual Stableford in conjunction.

The ladies’ event was won by Lesley Filmer on 38, with Geoffrey White on 43, winner in the men’s competition.

Congratulations to:
Graham Kerslake landing the on the 18th in Saturday’s C2 comp.
Danny Marmo scoring an incredible 47 in Saturday’s C1 comp to take out B Grade and Overall winner.

SUNDAY 8: Ladies Stableford: Overall Winner Shirley Anicich. Men’s Stableford: Overall Winner Robert Castle 36, Runner-up Warren Andrews 32.

MONDAY 9: Vets 9 hole Stableford: Div 1: Winner John Bell 28, Runner-up Geoff White 27, Best Net Jim McGlone 23. Div 2: Winner Ian Robertson 28 c/b, Runner-up Rob Nelson 28, Best Net Ian Robertson 22.

TUESDAY 10: Ladies Individual Stableford: Div 1: Winner Jenny Frost 38, Runner-up Robyn Kennett 36: Div 2: Winner Louise Willemsen (vis) 31 c/b, Runner-up Liz Davis 31: Div 3: Winner Beryl Wood 30, Runner-up Judith Hayes 28.

WEDNESDAY 11: C1 Men’s Stableford: A Grade: Winner Alan Daubaras 39, Runner-up Tony Short 38: B Grade: Winner Chris Norman 38 c/b, Runner-up Kevin Baker 38: C Grade: Winner Chris Kelly 39 c/b, Runner-up Reg Cronin 39. C2 Men’s Stableford: A Grade: Winner John Wade 40, Runner-up Rod Totman 38: B Grade: Winner Peter Schoonhoven 41, Runner-up Tom Newsham 40: C Grade: Winner Michael Wojko 43, Runner-up Mick Henneberger 41.

THURSDAY 12: Ladies Stableford: Div 1: Winner Jean o’Reilly 39: Div 2: Winner Pam Norman 37. Men’s Vets 9 hole Stableford: Overall Winner Reg Roberts 21, Overall Runner-up Rob Butler 20.

FRIDAY 13th: Ladies Stableford: Div 1: Winner Joan Frost 37: Div 2: Winner Pat Andrews 39. Mens Stableford: A Grade: Winner Chris Mawson 40: B Grade: Winner Peter Jackson 43: C Grade: Winner Alan Milne 38.

SATURDAY 14th: C1 Mens Stableford: A Grade: Winner Ray Wright 40, Runner-up Warwick Dart 39: B Grade: Winner Danny Marmo 47, Runner-up :John Fitzgerald 40: C Grade: Winner Garry Jones 42, Runner-up Robert Miller. C2 Mens Stableford: A Grade: Winner Scott Quinn 39 c/b, Runner-up Graham Kerslake 39: B Grade: Winner Tom Newsham 41, Runner-up Garrett Nunan 40: C Grade: Winner Gary McCann 42, Runner-up Wal Reisch 38.


Julie Newsham, Geoffrey White, Lesley Filmer, Tom Newsham.
Julie Newsham, Geoffrey White, Lesley Filmer, Tom Newsham.

Leave a Reply