Bellingen Council’s Bluett Award Presented

Paul Braybrooks OAM (A.R. Bluett Trustee), Bellingen Shire Council General Manager Liz Jeremy, Les McMahon (Trust Chairman), Bellingen Shire Council Mayor Cr Dominic King, Genia McCaffrey (A.R. Bluett Trustee).


BELLINGEN Shire Council’s coveted “Most Progressive Council” Bluett Award has arrived and been presented.

Bellingen Shire Councillors were delighted to welcome the three A.R. Bluett Trustees, Les McMahon, Trust Chairman, Genia McCaffrey and Paul Braybrooks OAM to the Shire recently to officially receive the prestigious award.

The award was won last year by Bellingen Shire Council in the Rural Category of the 2020 Local Government NSW A.R. Bluett Memorial Awards.

The A.R. Bluett Memorial Award has been awarded annually since 1945 and the recognition is considered to be the pinnacle of local government achievement.

The award is contested each year by councils in NSW who would like to be recognised as being the most progressive in the state.

Bellingen Shire Council Mayor, Cr Dominic King, said the A.R. Bluett Memorial Awards celebrate examples of exceptional achievement by progressive regional and metropolitan councils that encourage and foster innovation and continuous improvement.

“These awards are recognised as the pinnacle of local government achievement and it was wonderful to host the A.R. Bluett Trustees in our Shire once again to be presented with the official winners brass plaque which acknowledges Council’s work with our community to discover our Shire’s true potential.”

Cr King said Bellingen Shire Council’s awards submission detailed the council’s and the community’s continued efforts and progress towards addressing the opportunities and challenges identified in the Shire’s Community Vision.
“Council as the custodian of our Community Vision has worked together with our community to create a shared vision on how to sustainably manage growth in our Shire, maintain its natural beauty and uniqueness and remain an inclusive and connected community.

“In doing so we have had to be innovative, brave and resourceful to balance the needs of the organisation with community aspirations and I think it’s satisfying to see what can be achieved when we all work together,” Cr King said.

Entries for this year’s awards will open on 1 June 2021.

Entry is open to all NSW councils irrespective of size or resources.

The awards trustees encourage NSW councils to enter these prestigious awards and are interested in all aspects of council operations and services.


By Sandra MOON

Leave a Reply