First day in the office for new Mayor of Port Stephens Ryan Palmer

Port Stephens Mayor Ryan Palmer today at Council's administration building in Raymond Terrace
Port Stephens Mayor Ryan Palmer today at Council’s administration building in Raymond Terrace



Lifetime Port Stephens resident and President of the Tomaree Business Chamber, Ryan Palmer, spent his first day in the office today after being officially declared Mayor of Port Stephens on Saturday 16 September 2017.

Telstra ShopModern Media: Advertise with News Of The Area and you get your ad in 1) in Print, 2) on the News Website (like this ad), and 3) on our Social Media news site. A much more efficient way to advertise. Reach a HUGE audience for a LOW price TODAY! Call us on 02 4983 2134. Or[/caption]

Speaking today from Council’s Administration Building in Raymond Terrace, Mayor Palmer has said it is an honour to have been elected to lead Port Stephens Council for the next three years.

“It’s very humbling to have received such a strong endorsement from the Port Stephens community,” he said.

“I ran on a platform of building relationships with key people in order to deliver the best possible outcome for the community of Port Stephens and that’s what I aim to do.

“Through my roles as Business Chamber President and Convenor of Nelson Bay NOW, I’ve built strong partnerships with politicians of all persuasions and at all levels, business groups and community leaders. I have great faith that we can all pull together under a Council I lead for the next term.”

“I’ll ensure we consult widely with residents to understand their concerns and deliver the things that they truly value,” he added.

“As a first time Councillor, I’m very much looking forward to working with my fellow Councillors and learning on the job as Mayor.

“Whilst I’m not daunted by the job, I certainly don’t underestimate how big my task is, but I’m bouyed by what I know already of the excellent staff at Council”, Mayor Palmer said.

Counting was finalised on Sunday for the rest of the Council, with Giacomo Arnott joining returning councillors Ken Jordan and Paul Le Mottee in the West Ward, Sarah Smith completing Central Ward along with councillors Steve Tucker and Chris Doohan, and returning councillor John Nell being joined by Glen Dunkley and Jaimie Abbott in the East Ward.

Mayor Palmer and the new Council will be sworn in at the first meeting of Council next Tuesday 26 September 2017.

Leave a Reply