Port Stephens Election Campaign – 6 up on the Polls

Port Stephens’ candidates from top left and in order of ballot paper appearance are: Jaimie Abbott, Bradley Jelfs, Kate Washington, Bill Doran, Maureen Magee and Theresa Taylor.
Port Stephens’ candidates from top left and in order of ballot paper appearance are: Jaimie Abbott, Bradley Jelfs, Kate Washington, Bill Doran, Maureen Magee and Theresa Taylor.


THE MARCH 23 New South Wales state election has been heating up for the electorate of Port Stephens over the past couple of weeks.

Nova Coast Flooring SolutionsModern Media: Advertise with News Of The Area and you get your ad in 1) in Print, 2) on the News Website (like this ad), and 3) on our Social Media news site. A much more efficient way to advertise. Reach a HUGE audience for a LOW price TODAY! Call us on 02 4983 2134. Or media@newsofthearea.com.au



Multiple visits by the Premier, Ms Gladys Berejiklian and also by the Labor leader Mr Michael Daley has shown that the electorate is an important strategic seat in the upcoming election.

Recent accusations of fake Facebook profiles has made this one of the more interesting political contests of our times.

It was reported throughout the media that Facebook investigated a complaint from Kate Washington, current sitting member for Port Stephens, who alleged fake accounts were being used to manipulate the electoral process.

It was reported that the Liberal Party lodged a counter-complaint against Ms Washington with the Electoral Commission for allegedly misusing the electoral roll to research the identity of the fake Facebook profiles.

Six candidates have all put their hats into the ring for the job of representing our region in the NSW parliament.
The two leaders of the pack are sitting Member for Port Stephens Kate Washington and Liberal Candidate Jaimie Abbott.
Liberal Candidate Jaimie Abbott started campaigning in August and the hot topics including the immediate review of the Marine Park form part of her offering to voters.
The Liberals are also behind a new TAFE Campus for Nelson Bay which Jaimie Abbott said, “The new TAFE is rather exciting, the last campus built was in Bega; and it offers 43 courses, the proposed venue will have a variety of online and practical classrooms.”
We have seen more promises than ever, air conditioning in schools and a new school at Medowie from the Labor campaign, and more teaching staff from both sides.
The Liberals are also promising building repairs in schools clearing school maintenance backlogs throughout NSW by mid next year.
Health in Port Stephens has also been a hot topic the Liberals have promised $780 Million to upgrade John Hunter Hospital which services much of Port Stephens and $8 million for HealthOne at Tomaree Hospital, they will offer six thousand new nurses in Hunter New England Health and 100 new Doctors for our region as well.
Labor are promising a $15.2 Million dollar upgrade of Tomaree Hospital expanding services to deliver dialysis, rehabilitation and increase palliative care beds and put more nurses on the front line.
Kate Washington said, “I believe in schools and hospitals before stadiums; this is more than a slogan for me it’s a core belief.”
Jaimie Abbott told News Of The Area, “Only the Liberals will build the Fingal Bay Link Rd, Nelson Bay TAFE and review the Marine Park.”
Independent Bill Doran has stated that he doesn’t promise anything, but has pledged to donate 30% of his after tax salary to the Port Stephens community.
The Greens statement is more cautionary, it warns the community that they must continue to fight to keep public land in public hands, fight off over-development and work towards a solution for the PFAS issue facing Williamtown surrounds.
It is now in the hands of the voters, if the promises are all delivered on Port Stephens will see great things from the next government.

News Of The Area hope that the community have enough info on policies and promises from our candidates to best make an informed decision this Saturday.


This week the ballot order was drawn and the voting slip will have the following names in the following order:

  1.    Jaimie Abbott: Liberal
  2.    Bradley Jelfs: Sustainable Australia
  3.    Kate Washington: Country Labor
  4.    Bill Doran: Independent
  5.    Maureen Magee: The Greens
  6.    Theresa Taylor: Animal Justice Party

Where to Vote?


Leave a Reply