Coffs Harbour Suns women win state title

Coffs Harbour Suns women celebrate their grand final win.

COFFS Harbour Suns women have had a triumphant weekend in Sydney, returning as state champions.

The Suns women won their Spalding Waratah League grand final, triumphing 62-57 against the Canberra Nationals Academy.

Jordon Woods was awarded Most Valuable Player of the grand final top scoring with 24 points.

The Suns backed up to win the grand final after playing their semi-final the previous day, beating Moss Vale Magic 83-48.

Suns coach Mat Cook said his side had faced extra adversity against a tough Canberra team in the grand final.

“It was good to get that win back over them after they beat us in the final last year, as it’s been us and them the last couple of years,” he said.

“Most of the second half was close and there was only one or two points in it a lot of the time, and I don’t know if the lead was any more than five points.

“Our captain Felicity Cook and Jessi Reeves were both in foul trouble late in the third quarter, and the player of the year Ash Fasala broke her nose late in the third quarter and had to sit out.

“We were still fatigued from the semi-final the day before, as Moss Vale are a physical team, and Canberra are a young team that like to get out and run.

“We had a fair bit of adversity in the grand final, but we found a way to win.”

A way to win which started on the defensive end, according to Coach Cook.

“Our defence was up the whole game, and that’s the reason they only scored that many points,” he said.

“There wasn’t one stage where we didn’t have two players harassing them, and our defence never let up the whole game.”

In addition to their grand final victory, Suns players and coaches also won individual awards for the season.

Ashleigh Fasala was named Most Valuable Player of the league, and was also named to the All Star 5 of the league along with teammates Jessi Reeves and Keira Williams.

Felicity Cook was named Defensive Player of the Year, while Mat Cook was named Coach of the Year.


Leave a Reply