Salt Ash Principal presents PBL winners

The first PBL winners for term four, with their school representatives.
The first PBL winners for term four, with their school representatives.


THE final term of the Positive Behaviour for Learning (PBL) awards for 2018 were kicked off this week, with presentations to students made by Mrs Holly Deguara, Principal of Salt Ash Public School.

Raymond Terrace Carpet Centre Pty LtdModern Media: Advertise with News Of The Area and you get your ad in 1) in Print, 2) on the News Website (like this ad), and 3) on our Social Media news site. A much more efficient way to advertise. Reach a HUGE audience for a LOW price TODAY! Call us on 02 4983 2134. Or

The awardees for this week were;

Liam Bennett from Grahamstown Public School, for his efforts in raising money to support the farmers by recycling cans and bottles.

Selman Hassan from Irrawang High School, for being an outstanding, community-minded young man, involved in may activities in and out of school – including Student Representative Council. Debating, Public Speaking and representative sport, whilst consistently displaying our school PBL values.

Joshua Dickson from Karuah Public School, for being an outstanding support person during our ‘dance 2B fit’ concert.
Joshua assisted on the day of the concert to make sure everything ran smoothly.

He is always offering assistance, and nothing is ever too much trouble for him.

Destiny Direen from Raymond Terrace Public School, for displaying the PBL community rules of Trust, Responsibility and Respect, in fundraising for drought stricken farmers.

Larni Kennedy from Seaham Public School for handing in a considerable amount of money she had found in the playground, to a teacher.

Larni was also nominated because of her friendly manner, and the way she greets everyone at Seaham Public School.

Amber Lee Sloss from Hunter River High School, nominated for her positive and successful efforts in representing Hunter RIver High School at the Makers Festival in Newcastle.

Amber Lee is to be congratulated for her ability to conduct mature conversations with industry representatives about her own goals, and the goals of Hunter River High School’s P-Tech program.

Sage Farina from Irrawang Public School for the respect that he demonstrated for the local environment.

Sage used his own initiative and collected rubbish around the local area, and disposed of it properly on his way home from school.

Owen Humble from Medowie Public School, for stopping a queue of children to let a lady enter the Medowie Woolworths.

Sophie Robinson from Salt Ash Public School for displaying integrity in all situations.

Sophie is always a positive, respectful and safe learner at school and in the community.



By Rachael VAUGHAN

Leave a Reply