Tea Gardens Women’s Bowling Club Championship Fours

Winners of the Club Championship Fours: Karen Green, Kayelene Pearson, Dale Winter and Lily Smith.
Winners of the Club Championship Fours: Karen Green, Kayelene Pearson, Dale Winter and Lily Smith.

The final of the Club Championship Fours was played on Tuesday 17 January.

The majority of members had already predicted that this would be a very close contest between two very skilled bowling teams and this prediction proved to be correct.

Myall Coast Homes
Modern Media: Advertise with News Of The Area and you get your ad in 1) in Print, 2) on the News Website (like this ad), and 3) on our Social Media news site. A much more efficient way to advertise. Reach a HUGE audience for a LOW price TODAY! Call us on 02 4983 2134. Or media@newsofthearea.com.au


Lorraine’s team was leading by 8 shots on the 10th end.

Kayelene’s team scored 7 shots on the 13th end bringing the score to 12 v 10 their way.

The following ends were “neck to neck”. By the 19th end Lorraine’s team were 3 shots ahead.

Kayelene’s team sent down some great bowls and gained 8 shots for the last two ends, winning the final 25 to 20.

Great bowling by all competitors. It was magic to watch such a great game of bowls.

Thanks to Nola Jackson for umpiring and to the social committee: Wendy Jones, Sheril Johnson, Francis Betar and Sandra Leisemann for providing our delicious lunch.

The winners for social bowls were Robyn Beaumont, Jill McBride and Wendy Jones.

Happy birthday to club President Robyn Webster, who is celebrating a very important birthday this month.

Social bowls were played on Thursday 19 January and thankfully things had cooled down a bit, weather wise.

The winners with the highest margin were Robyn Webster, Karen McPhie, Jo Younghusband and Lorraine Harvey.

It was great to see Nola Jackson bowling again. Good to see your absence has not affected your great bowling ability.

Congratulations to our club member Vicki Rankin. Vicki also plays representative bowls with the Newcastle District.

Newcastle defeated Illawarra District recently winning the Howard Shield. Vicki is now off to bowl in Canberra with the district team on 20, 21 and 22 January for the Perpetual Trophy. Good bowling to all.

The Club Major Singles Championship commences on 2 February, 2017.

Tea Gardens Women’s Bowling Club

Leave a Reply