More Port Stephens students celebrated in Positive Behaviour for Learning program

The PBL Award winners for last week at the presentation at MarketPlace Raymond Terrace.

SCHOOL principals, teachers and staff have all embraced the Positive Behaviour for Learning Program run across the area’s schools for one simple reason – it works.

Stacy Mathieson, Principal Irrawang Public School told News Of The Area, “Irrawang Public School students, staff, parents and community members are safe, responsible learners who show respect to everyone, everywhere.

Mortgage Choice Raymond TerraceAdvertise with News of The Area today.
It’s worth it for your business.
Message us.
Phone us – (02) 4981 8882.
Email us –

“Positive Behaviour for Learning (PBL) was implemented at Irrawang Public School in 2010 and has become the framework for all of our systems and practices in order to enhance learning.

“PBL is a proactive system that responds to the needs of the school.

“Focusing on the behaviours we want to see, so students understand what they are supposed to do in all settings.
“This sets students up for success and increases engagement.

“Community PBL takes those same values outside the school gate.

“It has been wonderful to see so many students being acknowledged for being responsible citizens outside of school.

“We are proud to be a part of the Raymond Terrace Community PBL initiative,” she said.

This week’s PBL Awards Nominees

– The nominee from Irrawang Public School was Hayden Bates-Pollard who stayed back after a game of football on Saturday to help out with collecting and running ice packs for injured players from his club and the opposition.

– The environmentally conscious Kaidan Cartwright of Raymond Terrace Public School was nominated for keeping our community clean and tidy – picking up rubbish during a walking excursion.

– Grahamstown Public School student Authur Marks was nominated for always being respectful, kind and courteous to staff at school.

Arthur also helps out younger students and willingly packs away sports equipment at the end of each play time.

– Irrawang High School’s Wayu Phio-Ondee was nominated for outstanding leadership and representation at school and in the community at the Port Stephens Council Youth Advisory Panel.

– Hunter River High School’s Maddison Cunningham Maddison has been nominated for her kindness and inclusivity of others in the community.

– Salt Ash Public School Dylan Partridge’s nomination was for demonstrating positive and respectful values when participating in Starstruck. Dylan did a fantastic job representing his school proudly.

– Medowie Public School student Beau Allen was nominated for being well mannered and respectful to the crossing supervisor each and every day.

– Seaham Public School student Aidan Crowley used his own savings to support another student. Aidan observed another student at the shopping centre who was upset. He bought the student a gift with his own money which made a huge difference.

– Karuah Public School student Molly-May Sasse was nominated for displaying outstanding sportsmanship and showing respect to teammates, opponents, coaches and referees at the Rebecca Young Cup.


Leave a Reply