PBL Weekly Awards at Raymond Terrace MarketPlace

Students proudly receiving their PBL awards.


ONCE again, News Of The Area attended the Raymond Terrace MarketPlace Thursday evening Positive Behaviour for Learning (PBL) awards.

All Steel ShedsModern Media: Advertise with News Of The Area and you get your ad in 1) in Print, 2) on the News Website (like this ad), and 3) on our Social Media news site. A much more efficient way to advertise. Reach a HUGE audience for a LOW price TODAY! Call us on 02 4983 2134. Or media@newsofthearea.com.au

This week Ms Trish Bowen, who is the Director for Education Leadership, handed out the awards to the students in front of their teachers and family members.

Trish said, that her passion “is to help people to be the best that they can be and to believe that anything is possible.”

Award recipients include:

Thorin Jones, Hunter River High School: An extremely worthy recipient; demonstrating his maturity and selflessness in managing the care and safety of others in our community.

Isabelle Ping, Grahamstown Public School: Demonstrating the ability to support visiting volunteers and help the school community, by working in breakfast club, preparing toast and serving fellow students.

Emma Ball, Raymond Terrace Public School: Demonstrating trust and responsibility when representing the school and being a great role model to younger students.

Dominic Rooney, Salt Ash Public School: Demonstrating leadership and getting along skills by taking it upon himself to befriend a younger, new students to our school, including explaining our PBL values.

Jordy Watson, Seaham Public School: Jordy is in Kindergarten but already displays a very responsible attitude. He gave up his time, without being instructed to pack up playground sporting equipment at the end of lunch.

Cooper Irwin, Medowie Public School: For assisting a teammate who was suffering from anxiety before races at the PSSA Athletics Carnival. Cooper stayed and comforted the student, reassuring them everything would be OK. He also displayed great sportsmanship on the day assisting his peers by helping them get ready for their races.

Rhiannon Henderson, Irrawang Public School: For her honesty in handing in lost property so it could be returned to the rightful owner.

Iden Romanov, Karuah Public School: For always wearing his school uniform with pride. Iden has been seen walking to and from school with mum or dad sensibly. He always wears his hat and is responsible when crossing the road.

Samantha Newell, Irrawang High School: Nominated for going above and beyond as School Captain to assist staff and students in a time of crisis. Absolutely well-deserved; a true representation of our PBL values of respect, responsibility, and personal best.


By Heather SHARP


Students and their school principals with Trish Bowen after receiving their awards.


Trish Bowen awarded MarketPlace’s Colleen Mulholland-Ruiz and Stuart Murrell the Secretary of Education’s Award for Excellence.

Leave a Reply