Tea Gardens Men’s Bowling Club

Noel Jackson re-elected Club President at the Club’s AGM.

VALE Geoff Fowler.

It is with great sadness that I report on the passing of Geoff Fowler.

Geoff represented our Club at a high level in Pennants over many years and was a coach and mentor to many bowlers during his time at the Club.

A thorough gentleman, a patient, competent coach and a good friend.

He will be sadly missed.

13 July

The sun actually shone today and although the grass green is recovering from inordinate amounts of water, 40 bowlers had a great time on the synthetic green.

The morning game was decided by the ‘Highest winning score’ and with a score of 27, Greg Smith, Mike Dellaca and Alan Greenhalgh were the winners.

The afternoon game was won by Henry Dallas, Graham Reynolds and Mark Nightingale with the ‘Highest winning margin’ deciding the result.

The Garden Eatery voucher was won by Dave Perry.

Our thanks to the Garden Eatery for sponsoring this award.

Club Championship Fours

The first round of the Club Championship Fours was played some time ago, with round two delayed due to weather.

At that time the Jeff Baker team accounted for the Doug Andrews side 25-12 and the Mark Nightingale team won a close game against the Keith Smith team, 17-14.

With the weather behaving itself, round two was played this Saturday with some interesting results.

The Jeff Baker team continued its winning way with an easy win over the Ron Berczelly side, 24-12.

Alan Greenhalgh’s four had a similar win against the Anthony Grant side, 26-9.

The Ron Webster side had an almighty scare winning a high-class game against the Mark Nightingale side, 20-19.

Evergreen, Dennis Ashbridge’s side had an impressive win over the Bruce Murray team 21-11.

The Fours progressed this Sunday with the semi-final round with the Jeff Baker team making it through to the final by beating the Alan Greenhalgh side 25-14.

The remaining game, Dennis Ashbridge four against Ron Webster’s team, was a cracker going down to the last bowl on the last end.

The scores were tied at 20-20 at the 20th end.

Dennis’ team held their nerve finishing with a 2 to take the match 22-20.

Next weekend the Final, Ashbridge v Baker, not to be missed.

Club AGM

Great support at the Club’s Annual General Meeting with most members of the Management Committee being re-elected.

Popular President Noel Jackson will lead an enthusiastic team for the next bowling year.

Sunday Bowls.

A good turnout today for Sunday bowls with players enjoying some wonderful bowling weather.

Barry Goode, Vic Garlic and John Slater won the money with the highest winning margin of 19 shots.


Leave a Reply